Inside the Metro Peugeot Restaurant Of The Year 2018 Awards

Photos from the annual Metro Peugeot Restaurant of the Year Awards 2018. Click through the gallery to see if you recognise any familiar faces.

For the full Awards list and Metro Top 50 list, click here.

Photos from the Metro Peugeot Restaurant of the Year Awards 2018


Announced by Master of Ceremonies Clarke Gayford at a red-carpet event at Auckland Museum on April 30, the awards were attended by the city’s most successful restaurateurs. 


From left: MC Clarke Gayford, Metro Editor Susannah Walker and Auckland Mayor Phil Goff.


For the full Awards list and Metro Top 50 list, click here.


From left: Tim McKeown from Vida Concept and The AM Show's Aziz Al-Sa’afin.

The Pernod Ricard team.

The team from Clooney.

The team from Inti.

The team from Kazuya.

The team from Estrella.

The team from Depot.

From left: Bauer Media's Jacquie Fraser, Rachel McLean and Kelly McAuliffe.

Teams from Cocoro and Han.

The team from Pasta & Cuore.

The team from Prego.

Bauer Media's Guy Slater, Stuart Dick and Graeme Read.

The team from The Tasting Shed.

The team from 1947 Eatery. 

The Al Brown crew.

The team from Independent Liquor.

The team from Cibo.

The team from Hip Group.

The team from Movenpick.

The team from Amano.

Auckland Mayor Phil Goff with Bauer Media's Tanya Walshe, left, and Kaylene Hurley.

The team from Odettes and Hugo's Bistro.

The team from Ortolana.

The team from Cassia.

Simon Benoit and Gideon Landman from The French Cafe. 

Bauer Media staff.

The team from Casita Miro.

Metro Food Writer Kate Richards and The French Cafe's Simon Benoit.

The Cotto crew.

The Orphans Kitchen team.

More of the Hip Group team.

O'Connell St Bistro Restaurant Manager Jack Makin. O'Connell St won the Best Wine List award.

Laura Verner and Tobias Holm of Pasture. Pasture won Best Drinks List and was runner-up for Best Fine-Dining Restaurant.

Clare and Joost van den Berg of Odettes and Hugo’s Bistro. Hugo's Bistro won the Best Inner-City Bistro award and Best New Fit-out. It was also runner-up for Best New Restaurant.

From left: Samir Allen of Gemmayze St which won the Food for Good award, with Nick Loosely from Everybody Eats.

Cassia bar manager, Prateek Arora, was named Restaurant Personality of the Year.

Ismo Koski of Apero. Apero won the award for Best Service and was a joint runner-up for Best City-Fringe Bistro with Cotto.

Chand and Sid Sahrawat of Cassia and Sidart.


Sidart was the Supreme winner and Cassia was named runner-up. The couple were jointly awarded Restaurateur of the Year and Sid Sahrawat was named Best Chef for both restaurants.

Sid Sahrawat, Sho Osumi, Chand Sahrawat and Jason Kim of Sidart. Sidart won the Supreme Award - Metro Peugeot Restaurant of the Year 2018 - and the award for Best Fine-Dining Restaurant.

More of the Cassia team. Cassia was the runner-up to sibling restaurant Sidart for Metro Peugeot Restaurant of the Year 2018 and it also won Best Smart-Dining Restaurant.

From left: Sarah Conway, Blair Russell and Melissa Morrow of Ponsonby Road Bistro and The Halcyon. Ponsonby Road Bistro won Best City-Fringe Bistro.

Cotto chefs Hayden Phiskie and John Pountney. Cotto won the coveted Best New Restaurant award.

The Hugo's Bistro team, which the Best Inner-City Bistro award.

Cazador's Dariush Lolaiy, Brendan Kyle and Rebecca Smidt. Cazador won Best Neighbourhood Bistro.

Find out more about all the winners in the latest issue of Metro, which includes the Top 50 Guide, on sale now.